Policy & Advocacy Roadmap towards Regional Integration

Roadmap towards Regional Integration

COMESA (Common Market or Eastern and Southern Africa) is the largest Regional Economic Community in Africa; comprising of 19 Member States. Burundi, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Its vision is to drive the attainment of a fully integrated and competitive regional economic community, through a strategy based on cooperation in trade, investment promotion, and development.

COMESA formally came into being in December 1994 as a successor to the Preferential Trade Area (PTA) for Eastern and Southern Africa, which had been established in 1981. The regional integration strategy for COMESA member states seeks to achieve the following; Free Trade Area in October 2000, Customs Union by December 2012, a Common Market by 2015 and an Monetary Union by 2018.

Levels of Economic Integration



COMESA Business Council is a Business Member Organization and recognized private sector institution of the Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

  Contact Us
  COMESA Secretariat

Ben Bella Road, P. O. Box 30051,
Lusaka - ZAMBIA.

+ (+260)211 229725-32
Business Hours : 9:30 - 5:30