The General Assembly is the supreme organ of the CBC. It is composed of all the membership of the CBC. Its responsibilities includes, to:
  • Determine the policy and programmes of the CBC whose focus shall be to promote and protect the interest of the business community in the COMESA region;
  • Make recommendations to the COMESA policy organs on issues affecting the interests of the private sector as raised by CBC;
  • Determine the budgetary contributions, the membership scheme;
  • Membership development and services;
  • Exercise other powers and duties as conferred by the CBC Constitution.

The Board comprises of 9 Board members who are elected by the General Assembly; and are 9 members, one from each Member state. The Board, with its diversity and extensive expertise offers the guidance and direction in the formulation of the activities and the work plan towards private sector development in the region. All these members are chairpersons or presidents of selected trade support institutions. The Board is headed by a Chairman assisted by two Vice-Chairs and a Secretary General. (See Board Profiles)
The Board has mainly a supervisory role on CBC’s programmes and activities and its major functions include among others:
  • To oversee the implementation of the CBC Constitution and related policy matters;
  • To oversee and approve CBC funding, i.e. membership fees, service fees and fundraising activities and financial operations;
  • To review CBC activity reports and make appropriate recommendations to the General Assembly.

CBC Technical Administrative Committees
The Board appoints administrative committees to support strategic planning and implementation of activities for Resource Mobilization, and, Finance and Administration. The Committees work hand in hand with the Secretariat to develop and implement activities around organizational and operational strengthening of the institution.

CBC Technical Committees / Workgroups
CBC operates through sectoral workgroups to drive the strategic implementation of its programs and activities. The Technical workgroups are established as per the needs of the members, and based on the activities being implemented. The workgroups are headed by a Chairperson and another committee member elected drive the planning and implementation of activities within the workgroup. The following workgroups have as of 2014 been established;
  • Agribusiness and Agro Industry (Manufacturers)
  • SM-Enterprises And SM-Industries;
  • Tourism;
  • Financial Services;
  • Trade Facilitation And NTBs; (Cross Cutting);

The Secretariat is the operational arm of the institution which drives the implementation of the activities of CBC. The Secretariat is managed by a Chief Executive Officer; who coordinates and manages the financial, technical programs and administrative operations of the institution. The CEO is supported by a selected number of staff working on policy, membership development, financial and administrative operations.


COMESA Business Council is a Business Member Organization and recognized private sector institution of the Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA).

  Contact Us
  COMESA Secretariat

Ben Bella Road, P. O. Box 30051,
Lusaka - ZAMBIA.

+ (+260)211 229725-32
Business Hours : 9:30 - 5:30