Democratic Republic of Congo

Quick Facts:

POPULATION: 82.24 Million (2016)
CLIMATE: Equatorial Climate
LANGUAGE: French, Swahili, Lingala
RELIGION: Christianity
CURRENCY: Congolese Franc

TOURIST ARRIVALS: International tourism, number of arrivals in Congo was reported at 191000 in 2013, according to the World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially recognized sources. https://tradingeconomics. com/congo/international-tourism- number-of-arrivals-wb-data. html

Formerly a Belgian Colony the Democratic Republic of Congo has been an independent state since 30th June 1960. The territory of the DR Congo was first settled by humans around 90,000 years ago. Bantu peoples began migrating into the region in the 5th century and again in the 10th century. In the West of the region the Kingdom of Kongo ruled from the 14th to 19th centuries, while in the center and East of the region, the kingdoms of Luba and Lunda ruled from the 16th and 17th centuries to the 19th century. The country has a 25-mile (40-km) coastline on the Atlantic Ocean but is otherwise landlocked neighboring the Central African Republic and South Sudan to the north; Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Tanzania to the east; Zambia and Angola to the south. It is the second largest country on the continent; only Algeria is larger. The capital, Kinshasa, is located on the Congo River about 320 miles (515 km) from its mouth. The largest city in central Africa, it serves as the country’s official administrative, economic, and Cultural Centre.

Monument de Lumumba:
Erected in honor of a great African Visionary and Leader. Born on July 2, 1925, in Onalua, Belgian Congo (now the Democratic Republic of the Congo), Patrice Lumumba was a writer and civic organizer before co-founding the Congolese National Movement. He became the first prime minister of the Democratic Republic of Congo with the country’s independence; yet massive unrest followed with other leaders’ uprisings, along with U.S. and Belgian involvement. Lumumba was killed on January 17,1961. Patrice Lumumba was the first prime minister of the Democratic Republic of Congo, calling for national unity and overall African independence.

Pont Maréchal;
The Matadi Bridge (formerly Maréchal Bridge ) is a suspension bridge in Matadi , Democratic Republic of the Congo . It crosses the Congo River and allows to connect via the Matadi road to Boma located about fifty kilometers downstream of the river. It is the longest suspension bridge on the African continent and regularly attracts tourists.

Mausolée de M’Zee KABILA;
Laurent-Désiré Kabila born November 27, 1939 was a Congolese revolutionary and politician who served as the 3rd President of the Democratic Republic of the Congo from May 17, 1997, death on January 16, 2001.

Monument de Kasa-Vubu;
This Monument honors the legacy of the first president of the Congo-Léopoldville (1960– 65), today the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Joseph Kasa-Vubu was born in Mayombe Belgian Congo 1910. In 1955, Kasa-Vubu was elected leader of the ABAKO (Alliance des Bakongo), made primarily of his own people, from around the Congo River. Under his leadership, the group swept the first open municipal Leopoldville elections in 1957, and he was elected mayor of the Dendale district of the city.

Kasa-Vubu quickly became known as one of the first Congolese leaders to call for independence. At first, he advocated for independence from Belgium on a 30-year timeline, but he shortened the timetable as the ABAKO movement gained in strength. In his inauguration speech as mayor of Dendale, Kasa-Vubu reiterated his demand for independence, drawing a reprimand from Belgian colonial authorities, which only strengthened his image as a Congolese leader

The wildlife of the Democratic Republic of the Congo has an extremely large bio-diversity and houses many flora and fauna in seasonally flooded forests and grasslands. The Democratic Republic of the Congo also contains rainforest and holds five national parks which are home to many species of Gorilla, big cats, and birds. Over 80 animal species indigenous to the DRC some of which include endangered western lowland gorilla, the endangered eastern lowland gorilla, African forest elephant (Loxodonta cyclotis), and okapi.

1. The Virunga National Park in the province of North Kivu.
2. The Kahuzi-Biega Park in Bukavu, South Kivu.
3. The Garamba National Park
4. The Upemba National Park
5. The Maiko National Park
6. The Virunga chain
7. The Lomako-Yokokala Wildlife Reserve (RFLY) protected area in Monga and Tshuapa
8. The Tayna Gorilla Reserve (GTA), a protected area in Lubero, North Kivu
9. The Kisimba-Ikobo Primate Reserve (RPKI), a protected area in North Kivu.
10. The Okapis Wildlife Reserve at Epulu in Tshopo province.
11. The Ruwenzori massif
12. The hunting grounds of Epi and Bili-Uélé

1. Lake Kivu
2. Lake Tanganyika